Sunday in the Capital

Today I had an adventure a bit closer to home. I set off for the Australian Reptile Centre in Nicholls and was soon at my destination as I live on the northside anyhow; however, as Canberrans have told me on many occasions, 30 minutes is the longest time you will ever spend driving from one place to another in this city.

I paid my $16 adult admission fee and entered the centre. I was told there were snakes and other reptiles which could be patted which the child in me found very exciting. I looked at blue tongue, bearded and frill-necked lizards, skinks and goannas.

I met a saltwater crocodile called Charlie and spied some freshwater ones too (in another tank.) I saw cute little skinks and turtles, some of which I was able to pat. I patted a blue tongue lizard too.

I walked through a dark passage with small, nocturnal reptiles and then it was snakes! I patted a python and beheld others which were not to be patted like the boa constrictor and the eastern and king brown or mulga snakes. I also beheld the beauty of an olive python which is not venemous. Then I went to the Walk in Aviary which was a short distance away and also in Nicholls.

I paid my $13 adult admission fee and was soon feeding the birds as I got a cut up apple and meal worms to feed them in a bowl and container respectively. The kaleidoscopic beauty of the rainbow lorikeets enthralled me, as did the many other birds which also included zebra finches and cockatiels. Then I had half a pint of Kilkenny at the George Harcourt which is a great English pub in the area. I enjoyed my beverage outside in the sun as I listened to musicians perform for the hefty crowd of revellers. Click the “Sunday in the Capital” link to see a clip I took of a band performing at The George Harcourt this afternoon.
Sunday in the Capital

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

