Finding the Blue Pool

I had heard from my uncle that there was a beautiful big ocean pool a drive away in Bermagui. One day I decided to find it…

I drove to Bermagui. This included driving across a little arched one way bridge across water filled with beautiful black swans. This was mesmerising.

Finally I got to Bermagui (it’s about a 45-50 minute drive from Moruya.) I stopped off at the information centre and was given a map of Bermagui along with directions to find the Blue Pool. I drove alongside a beach and came to a tight and steep corner. I turned into it and found myself on a steep downward slope. I parked and walked down the steep staircase to the ocean pool in the rocks below.

The coastline around me was magnificent. Soon I was by two big ocean pools. One was smaller which I assumed was for children and the other was much larger. I put on my goggles and snorkel and clambered down the ladder into the larger pool.

I was impressed with how deep the water was and how big the pool was. It was in a large rectangular shape. On the bottom I saw big fish, coral, seaweed and shells. I snorkelled from one end of the pool to the other. Occasionally big waves crashed over rocks and new sea water drifted into the ocean pool. This was my first time in an ocean pool and it was amazing!

Leave a Reply

