Exploring Springbrook National Park

I decided to spend a day up at Springbrook National Park. It’s about a 45 minute drive from the Gold Coast but well worth the journey. I drove up into the mountains and found that light rain and mist were lingering around. This made it seem even more magical. I parked my car and did the Purlingbrook Falls track. This is a 4km track which goes in a circuit to the Purlingbrook Falls and back to the car park. I walked on the pathway which was adjacent to the cliff.

From this path I could see the top of the waterfall cascading down forcefully to the rocks and pool below. I walked past native rainforest plants, wildflowers and tree ferns. I spotted a yellow robin and a couple of butterflies. The rainforest was very peaceful and calming. Soon I was at the bottom of the waterfall. I gazed up at this tower of water before me.

Even just the sound of it was soothing. The water spurted out from orange coloured rocks in a straight white torrent. I gazed mesmerised. Then I made my way back. Afterwards I had a mocha and a brownie at a nearby cafe’ then made my way to the Natural Bridge which was about 17km away. I drove through the green rolling fields of Numinbah Valley adorned with cattle and horses. I remember I did a trail ride here for my birthday a few years back.

Then I was at the Natural Bridge. I parked my car, read the information signs and began the walk. There were a few steps but not too many. Soon I was at the Natural Bridge. This place takes my breath away every time-it’s so enthralling. I looked at the rocks forming a bridge with the waterfall cascading behind and through them. I wandered over to the glow worm cave which this was attached to. Then I did the rest of the walk, stopping at various lookouts on the way.

Leave a Reply

