A Visit to Mogo Zoo

I’d heard there was a white lioness at Mogo Zoo and was intrigued so I went to visit. The zoo is just a short drive from Mogo and is well sign posted so you can’t miss it. I paid my admission fee and entered. I looked at monkeys climbing on the trees inside their enclosures and peaking out at us human visitors.

I passed meerkats with one on senitel duty (on guard) with its tail in the air-looking for any possible hint of danger while the others ate, scurried around or rested. Meerkats are so adorable especially when they run with their tails in the air. A wall in their enclosure was painted to look like an African safari landscape.

I passed snoozing snow leopards, towering giraffes, interesting ostriches and running zebras. I spotted a gigantic gorilla in its enclosure on top of a hill. I could hear it calling too. The sumatran tigers’ yellow eyes followed me through the wire of their enclosure and finally I found the white lioness. She was walking up and down the fence line and rubbing her body against the fence. Other lionesses were cleaning each other and lying sprawled out on the grass inside the enclosure. Lastly I patted some friendly deer. What an experience!

Leave a Reply

