Relaxing day at Palm Cove

I decided to go for a drive and explore one of Cairns’ northern beaches: Palm Cove. I’d heard from one of my friends that this was a nice spot. I drove past the
giant statue of Captain Cook and past tall palm trees on the highway.

image

Within about half an hour I was there. I’d never seen so many palm trees in my life! The area had a sense of sophistication about it and was flanked by groovy shops, cafe’s, a surf club and fancy hotels.

image

I found a carpark and headed straight for the beach. Life guards were patrolling and the red and yellow flags were up. It was a bit overcast but the sea breeze was refreshing and the sound of the palm fronds moving in the breeze brought me pure relaxation.
I waded into the water and went for a swim. The water felt quite warm for the ocean put refreshing. I turned and looked at my surroundings. There were two islands out to sea: one larger on the other side of the jetty which was filled with people fishing and another, a small island straight out from the beach.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

A sail boat crossed the water in front of the smaller island. Later I
walked along the jetty and back and marvelled at the views surrounding me. Then I bought a hot dog for lunch and a mango and passionfruit ice cream for afterwards. Lastly I wandered along a pathway to the end where it met entry to a beach and back again. What a relaxing day.

image

Leave a Reply

