A Day in Hyde Park

Today I went to Hyde Park and found Peter Pan (the statue.) I enjoyed the green leafiness and absolute tranquillity Hyde Park afforded. There were flowers, bumblebees and baby animals everywhere. I saw a swan family with fluffy, grey cygnets and a very protective father, a goose family with fluffy goslings and a water bird family with baby water birds. I saw lots of grey, little squirrels who were so tame and came so close wanting some nuts. Unfortunately I hadn’t any with me but they still came so close to me. They were within patting distance and then scampered across the grass and up trees in seconds. I had lemon drizzle cake and a cappuccino at a cafe’ in the park and then went to visit the Princess Diana Memorial Fountain. It goes in a circular shape and was made using Cornish granite. Then I walked along the Serpentine and past the lake to Kensington Palace and Gardens and the Orangery. Queen Victoria was in her usual spot guarding Kensington Palace in her water fountain. I walked through Kensington Gardens and through the green leafy tunnel, out to the orangery at the other side after having seen the water garden. Then I walked back through the leafy tunnel and a robin red breast fluttered to a twig and stared at me. This reminded me of Mary Lennox in “The Secret Garden” of course when the robin showed her the way to the secret garden. I managed to catch the robin in mid flight with my camera as it was a bit camera shy and may have heard more people coming. Next I searched for the bookshop from the “Notting Hill” movie in Notting Hill but don’t think I found it. However I did find the Portobello Road Markets and bought a nice black dress. Then I sat on the top deck of a red London double decker bus back to the tube station, watching the world unfold before me 🙂Wednesday London 164 Wednesday London 169 Wednesday London 172 Wednesday London 173 Wednesday London 181 Wednesday London 189 Wednesday London 199 Wednesday London 209 Wednesday London 220 Wednesday London 225 Wednesday London 228 Wednesday London 236 Wednesday London 237 Wednesday London 242 Wednesday London 262 Wednesday London 269 Wednesday London 270 Wednesday London 280 Wednesday London 292 Wednesday London 297 Wednesday London 306 Wednesday London 327 Wednesday London 335 Wednesday London 336 Wednesday London 339 Wednesday London 343 Wednesday London 344 Wednesday London 355 Wednesday London 373 Wednesday London 379 Wednesday London 383

Leave a Reply

