Wandering around Hastings: St Leonards and Ore

Today I began with a full English Breakfast at the B&B I’m staying at: absolutely delicious. Later I had a slice of Victoria Sponge cake and a cup of tea at a local bakery down the road: also delicious. Victoria Sponge Cake and Tea

I walked down to the Promenade with my lunch and the Daily Mail weekend newspaper. I walked to Ore Town Centre and back. I passed seagulls either sitting on the pebbly beach or bathing in the sea.Seagulls Expenses Saturday 037 Expenses Saturday 044

They did this in certain ways including sitting on varying levels of a structure which was in the water. This meant the seagulls on the lower levels got wetter than those on the upper ones and I thought the seagulls were very clever to have worked this out for themselves. I passed a theatre, Expenses Saturday 047

a Queen Victoria statue in front of Warrior SquareExpenses Saturday 065 Expenses Saturday 068 Expenses Saturday 070

and saw the castle ruins on the hill in Ore. Expenses Saturday 061I walked back past a jazz performance venueExpenses Saturday 080
Expenses Saturday 085 Expenses Saturday 091 Expenses Saturday 092and found St Leonards Gardens. Through a towering archway and open black giant spiky gates and onto the winding hilly paths past flower beds and trees.Expenses Saturday 098 Expenses Saturday 099 Expenses Saturday 101 Expenses Saturday 105

There were bluebells, daffodils and many other flowers.Expenses Saturday 094 Expenses Saturday 114 Expenses Saturday 115

Birds chirped from the branches of the trees. I found an excellent vantage point almost at the top of the gardens where I could see across the entire area and look out to the sea beyond it: fantastic place to read my paper. Expenses Saturday 106

Leave a Reply

