Exploring Notre’ Dame

20120804-203126.jpg

I explored the Cathedral of Nortre’ Dame today! I caught the train RER B to St Michel Nortre’ Dame, walked across a bridge over the River Seine and I was there!

20120804-203307.jpg

It was a magnificent sight with its fierce gargoyles, giant stained glass circular window and gothic architecture. Upon closer examination I saw its door frames had figures around them. So much detail!

20120804-203502.jpg

I went into the silent church part of the cathedral first. I looked at many intriguing things: saints, statues of Mary, baby and adult Jesus on the cross and so much more! I could have paid for an audio guide but I decided against it as I wanted the silence to enjoy the sights in my own way. Then I paid to go into the Treasury and saw much gold and sparkling jewels. There were gold chalices, jugs and so many more things. There were jewel incrusted heads of male statues and a giant purple sparkling ring. I even think I saw diamonds in there as part of a gold and diamond object!

20120804-203938.jpg
Then I walked up many stairs on the right hand side of Notre’ Dame when facing ahead coming out of the church part. I ascended the staircase the hunchback would have once climbed. I went to two platforms, eventually pretty much standing on top of Notre’ Dame with amazing views across Paris. I saw the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and many other sights in the distance.

20120804-204200.jpg
I saw gargoyles and the Hunchback’s big bell. It was absolutely fantastic!

20120804-204325.jpg
Then I finished my day with a glass of champagne since I am in France. Bliss! 😀

20120804-204443.jpg

20120804-204509.jpg

2 Comments to “Exploring Notre’ Dame”

  1. Great pictures, I love the one of the gargoyle! I wish I would have gone up the stairs when I was there. I must have walked right by them or thought they were off limits or something. Guess I’ll have to go back… 🙂

  2. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most people will go together with together with your website.

Leave a Reply

