Paris day of Adventure

20120804-003400.jpg

Today I caught the Metro to the Eiffel Tower. I had my printed online ticket to go in a lift up the tower at 12pm with access to the summit handy. When I got there I was so glad I’d booked online. Like Lonely Planet had warned, the queue was huge so I was glad I followed their tip of booking online. I went to the “Customers with Reservations” area and waited until 12pm with the others, when we’d be allowed to ascend the Eiffel!
Finally the time came and I was so nervous but incredibly excited at the same time.
We stopped at the first floor with the restaurant and then the second floor which the rest of us got off at who hadn’t got off at the first.
It was pretty high already and I did a circuit around the outside, getting snaps of the marvellous view. However, this view was nothing compared to what was to come at the summit.
I went in the lift for the summit queue and when my lift group’s turn came my excitement intensified.
We climbed much, much higher than before. The lift was pretty fast. We reached the summit! I gazed out at the green River Seine, the Louvre and all across Paris as far as the eye can see. I felt on top of the world!

20120804-004204.jpg

20120804-004247.jpg

20120804-004332.jpg

20120804-004350.jpg
Click on this link to watch my video from up the Eiffel Tower:
https://vimeo.com/47354194
They were selling champagne at the summit which was nice. I didn’t have any but admired the cleverness of the idea, drinking on top of the world.
Then I went down to the first floor and had lunch in the cafeteria and not the restaurant as I’m on a backpacker’s budget. Lunch was great though. I had a baguette with chicken and salad (French) and a white chocolate Kinder Buono bar (German).
Then I bought a mini golden Eiffel Tower for a souvenir of my courageous experience (heights can scare me).
Next I took plenty of photos of the tower and walked to a museum which I looked at until it closed before returning to the tower to wait for night to come and the lights to turn on. At about 9.30pm I think it was, the tower glowed a brilliant gold! I was absolutely mesmerised and enthralled at this. Then I went back to my accommodation to get some sleep before the Cathedral of Norte’ Dame’ tomorrow! 😀

20120804-005053.jpg

20120804-005129.jpg

2 Comments to “Paris day of Adventure”

  1. A person essentially lend a hand to make severely posts I would state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual post amazing. Fantastic job!

  2. 215855 250052I truly appreciated this gorgeous weblog. Make confident you maintain up the very good function. Very best Regards . 281417

Leave a Reply

